Everyday, we put ourselves at risk of being involved in a car accident the moment we sit in the driver’s seat. No matter how cautiously we drive, we can’t protect ourselves from other drivers on the road. A car collision can happen to anyone when they least expect it and can result in extensive—and costly—medical treatment.
If you are in a car accident caused by another driver’s negligence, their insurance should pay for your injuries and damages. With good reason, Florida drivers are required to have car insurance. However, not everyone plays by the rules. 20.4% of Florida drivers are uninsured, according to the Insurance Research Council. A car accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver can leave you struggling financially. Make sure you are protected with uninsured motorist (UM) coverage.
What is Uninsured Motorist Coverage?
Uninsured motorist (UM) coverage protects you, if you are in an accident where the driver at fault does not have sufficient liability coverage to compensate you for your injuries. This coverage pays for your medical expenses if you are hit by a driver without insurance or a hit-and-run driver. UM coverage can also pay for lost wages, disability, long-term care, and pain and suffering. In an accident, the at-fault driver’s insurance typically pays for these expenses, but you may be left paying out of pocket if the driver does not have insurance if you do not carry UM coverage. As a personal injury law firm, we strongly recommend you add it to your policy today.
Why You Should Have Uninsured Motorist Coverage
Although Florida does require drivers to have car insurance, the minimum amount required is relatively low. Florida drivers only need $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and $10,000 in Property Damage Liability (PDL). Over the years, we have seen countless car accidents where the minimum coverage required is insufficient to cover all the car damages, medical bills, and time off from work. If the cost of injuries surpass the PIP liability and the negligent driver cannot pay, victims are responsible for the medical bills out of their own pocket. Add UM coverage to your auto-insurance policy so that you can receive compensation from your own insurance company.
Filing a Personal Injury Claim
The process for filing a personal injury claim in Florida is complex. Before you receive any money, your insurance company will make sure certain criteria is met.
In order to receive compensation, you must prove (1) negligence on behalf of the other party; (2) a permanent injury; and (3) pain and suffering. The attorneys of Greenberg Ramón-Alonso & Urbano can build a compelling case on your behalf to ensure you collect maximum compensation for your losses. We understand how these incidents affect every aspect of our clients’ lives. Keeping this in mind, we fight for full and fair compensation, which can include:
- Gastos médicos
- Pérdida de salarios/ingresos
- Reducción/pérdida de la capacidad de ganancia
- Dolor y sufrimiento
- Angustia emocional
If you have been injured in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver, GRU will pursue justice for you. We can assure you that we will do absolutely everything we can to obtain the best possible result on your behalf. For a FREE consultation, call (305) 595-2400!